Last Updated: July 15, 2024

Top 5 Best Astaxanthin Supplements for 2023

Looking for a little support in maintaining your overall health and vitality?

If so, you might be curious about the best antioxidant supplements available. With a broad range of options out there, identifying the most effective antioxidants can be quite a challenge. That’s where we step in – we’ve done the research and compiled a list of the top antioxidant supplements for you.

Each of these supplements, featuring Astaxanthin, has been thoroughly assessed based on the quality of ingredients, optimal dosage, main health benefits, user experiences, and affordability. Whether you’re seeking an immediate enhancement to your wellbeing or a more long-term strategy for maintaining good health, one of these Astaxanthin supplements is likely to be your ideal match.

So, what are you waiting for? Dive into our top 5 best Astaxanthin supplements of 2023 list and empower your health to its full potential!

1

Top Pick:
Pirooz Cell Care

9.9

5/5

Exceptional

  • Fast absorption for quick results
  • Counteracts aging by fighting free radicals
  • Enhances heart and brain health
  • Potent antioxidants
  • Boosts immunity with superfood extract
  • Restores healthy cell structure
  • Safe and effective
  • All-natural, no synthetics
  • Frequently sells out

2

Nutrex Hawaii

9.7

4.8/5

Excellent

  • Cardiovascular support
  • Boosts immune system
  • Improves brain health
  • Includes Tumeric
  • Supports normal cholesterol
  • Difficult to swallow

3

Nature City True Asta

8.3

4/5

Great

  • Soy and gluten free
  • Relieves eye fatigue
  • Promotes smooth skin
  • Improves muscle endurance & recovery
  • Natural ingredients
  • Side effects

4

Igennus Healthcare Nutrition

8.1

4/5

Very Good

  • Vegan
  • Improves cardiovascular health
  • Promotes skin health
  • Aids eye health
  • Strong chemical smell
  • Side effects

5

Now Foods Astaxanthin

7.5

3.75/5

Good

  • Supports cardiovascular health
  • May reduce inflammation
  • Can improve skin
  • May benefit eye health
  • Mild side effects
  • Not suitable for vegans

Overall Ranking: A+

Overall Ranking

A+

User Ratings

9.9/10

5/5

(4622 votes)

THE RESULTS

High praise for this little powerhouse of a supplement!

We were hard-pressed to find any shortcomings with this product. After a brief period of use, we saw a marked improvement in our skin – it looked significantly healthier and more vibrant.

But the benefits of Astaxanthin didn’t stop there. Beyond the visual enhancements, we felt a noticeable shift in our energy levels. We hadn’t been fully aware of our energy deficit until we experienced the revitalizing effects of this supplement.

We also observed a considerable improvement in our digestion and gut health, largely attributable to the all-natural ingredients and added superfood extracts. And since Astaxanthin is gluten-free, it further helps to curb inflammation and support a healthier digestive system.

Moreover, Astaxanthin’s properties as a powerful antioxidant meant it was working hard to protect our cells from harmful free radicals, contributing to overall health and anti-ageing benefits.

These supplements are nothing short of astounding! Their effectiveness is unrivalled, easily making them our top choice of supplement!

Proven Results

9.9/10

Absorption

9.9/10

Quality of Ingredients

9.8/10

Value for Money

9.9/10

Customer Reviews

9.9/10

PROS

  • Fast absorption for quick results
  • Counteracts aging by fighting free radicals
  • Enhances heart and brain health
  • Potent antioxidants
  • Boosts immunity with superfood extract
  • Restores healthy cell structure
  • Safe and effective
  • All-natural, no synthetics

CONS

  • Frequently Sells Out

THE BOTTOM LINE

10 out of 10 on all our tests! The product is all-natural, safe, and effective. We couldn’t find any faults and were super impressed with the power of these supplements.

Limited time discount:

Save up to 70% OFF your first order

2. Nutrex Hawaii

Overall Ranking: A

Overall Ranking

A

User Ratings

8.3/10

3.7/5

(2452 votes)

THE RESULTS

This is a brand that has been around a while, but we’ve never tried their products, so we were looking forward to putting it to the test.

This product includes a lot of natural ingredients. The brand claim that their Astaxanthin is naturally grown in Hawaii and includes other natural ingredients such as safflower oil and purified water. We were also happy to note that the product is gluten and lactose free which helps to promote a healthy gut.

Whilst we were happy with the ingredients, we were not happy with the size of the gel capsules. These were beyond big and very difficult to swallow. In fact they were so big to swallow that it almost felt impossible and was very uncomfortable.

After finally swallowing the gel caps, we did feel some improvements, however, we did suffer with a bit of sickness consistently over the testing period.

Proven Results

8.2/10

Absorption

8.4/10

Quality of Ingredients

7.0/10

Value for Money

6.5/10

Customer Reviews

7.8/10

PROS

  • Cardiovascular support
  • Boosts immune system
  • Improves brain health
  • Includes Tumeric
  • Supports normal cholesterol

CONS

  • Difficult to swallow

THE BOTTOM LINE

Whilst we saw small initial improvements, these supplements didn’t quite get us to our goal, and we did suffer with some sickness during the testing period. We also found the capsule itself rather difficult to swallow.

3. Nature City True Asta

Overall Ranking: B

Overall Ranking

B

User Ratings

7.5/10

3.4/5

(1535 votes)

THE RESULTS

Nature City have a variety of different supplements available, so when we saw True Asta (Astaxanthin Supplement) we were intrigued.

We were initially impressed with the ingredients; everything was natural and there were no harmful synthetic ingredients. We were also pleased to see that this product was gluten and soy free which helps to promote a healthy gut and means it is safe for anyone who suffers with those allergies.

However, we did suffer from some mild side effects, including stomach discomfort and a couple of headaches. We did see an improvement in our skin, but the stomach discomfort did let us down.

Proven Results

8.2/10

Absorption

8.0/10

Quality of Ingredients

6.0/10

Value for Money

7.0/10

Customer Reviews

7.5/10

PROS

  • Soy and gluten free
  • Relieves eye fatigue
  • Promotes smooth skin
  • Improves muscle endurance & recovery
  • Natural ingredients

CONS

  • Side effects

THE BOTTOM LINE

Almost there! But not quite. Whilst we did see an initial improvement, we didn’t appreciate the stomach discomfort and headaches. Whilst not intense or severe, we have tried supplements that didn’t deliver the same side effects so did feel a bit let down.

4. Igennus Healthcare Nutrition

Overall Ranking: C+

Overall Ranking

C+

User Ratings

9.7/10

3.5/5

(4614 votes)

THE RESULTS

When we saw that this product offered AstaPure microalgae, which wasn’t included in a lot of other brands we tested, we had to give it a try to see whether it made much difference.

We tried the product over a period of a few weeks. We used as directed and at first felt that there may be some improvements, but we didn’t have an extra boost of energy or feel great improvement to our health, and in fact suffered a few side effects.

Something that also put us off was the initial smell of the product when opening the bottle. It smelled strongly of chemicals which may just be down to the manufacturing.

Whilst we appreciate that this brand tried to add something new to the mix, we didn’t feel that it fully delivered.

Proven Results

9.0/10

Absorption

8.7/10

Quality of Ingredients

8.8/10

Value for Money

7.0/10

Customer Reviews

9.0/10

PROS

  • Vegan
  • Improves cardiovascular health
  • Promotes skin health
  • Aids eye health

CONS

  • Strong chemical smell
  • Side effects

THE BOTTOM LINE

We were initially impressed with the unique added ingredient and were intrigued to test it, but did have mixed results. We suffered some side effects, and we also couldn’t get over the chemical smell which left us a little unsettled.

5. Now Food Astaxanthin

Overall Ranking: C

Overall Ranking

C

User Ratings

8.1/10

3.4/5

(1540 votes)

THE RESULTS

On testing the product, we initially found great results, with our skin improving massively in a short time.

However, then came the side effects. Whilst they were mild and not intrusive enough to distract us from our day, they did cause us some discomfort. We were also disappointed to note that the product is not suitable for vegans, so this isn’t for everyone.

Proven Results

8.2/10

Absorption

8.0/10

Quality of Ingredients

6.0/10

Value for Money

7.0/10

Customer Reviews

7.5/10

PROS

  • Supports cardiovascular health
  • May reduce inflammation
  • Can improve skin
  • May benefit eye health

CONS

  • Mild side effects
  • Not suitable for vegans

THE BOTTOM LINE

Whilst this product offered some great results, for example, improved skin etc. We were put off by the uncomfortable side effects. Whilst they didn’t hinder our day completely, they were noticeable enough to make us quite uncomfortable.

Top Choice 2023

Overall Ranking: A+

Overall Ranking

A+

User Ratings

9.9/10

5/5

(4622 votes)

THE RESULTS

High praise for this little powerhouse of a supplement!

We were hard-pressed to find any shortcomings with this product. After a brief period of use, we saw a marked improvement in our skin – it looked significantly healthier and more vibrant.

But the benefits of Astaxanthin didn’t stop there. Beyond the visual enhancements, we felt a noticeable shift in our energy levels. We hadn’t been fully aware of our energy deficit until we experienced the revitalizing effects of this supplement.

We also observed a considerable improvement in our digestion and gut health, largely attributable to the all-natural ingredients and added superfood extracts. And since Astaxanthin is gluten-free, it further helps to curb inflammation and support a healthier digestive system.

Moreover, Astaxanthin’s properties as a powerful antioxidant meant it was working hard to protect our cells from harmful free radicals, contributing to overall health and anti-ageing benefits.

These supplements are nothing short of astounding! Their effectiveness is unrivalled, easily making them our top choice of supplement!

Proven Results

9.9/10

Absorption

9.9/10

Quality of Ingredients

9.8/10

Value for Money

9.9/10

Customer Reviews

9.9/10

PROS

  • Fast absorption for quick results
  • Counteracts aging by fighting free radicals
  • Enhances heart and brain health
  • Potent antioxidants
  • Boosts immunity with superfood extract
  • Restores healthy cell structure
  • Safe and effective
  • All-natural, no synthetics

CONS

  • Frequently Sells Out

THE BOTTOM LINE

10 out of 10 on all our tests! The product is all-natural, safe, and effective. We couldn’t find any faults and were super impressed with the power of these supplements.

Limited time discount:

Save up to 70% OFF your first order

Best Astaxanthin Supplements of 2023 Buying Guide

Low energy and low immune system can affect your day-to-day life, from picking up illnesses frequently or not being able to get involved in your daily activities. It can also affect your digestive and eye health. Astaxanthin Supplements can boost your immune system and your energy levels allowing you to get on with your day without feeling tired or lethargic.
  
We have tried most of the brands available. Whilst all deliver in different ways, some deliver on all aspects, and without side effects.

Read our guide on the benefits of Astaxanthin Supplements and a few tips to help you decide on the best sleep aid for you.

Benefits of Astaxanthin

  • Promotes Skin Health
    This is a powerful antioxidant that can protect you from harmful UV rays and environmental stressors. It can also reduce the signs of ageing.
  • Supports Cardiovascular Health
    Astaxanthin can help to reduce cholesterol and inflammation in the body which in turn can promote your cardiovascular system.
  • Promotes Eye Health
    Symptoms such as eye strain and fatigue can be reduced by Astaxanthin supplements and can also reduce the risk of age related eye diseases.
  • Improves Immune System
    Containing powerful anti inflammatory and immune system boosting properties, Astaxanthin can reduce of the risk of infection and disease.

What To Look For In Astaxanthin Supplements?

We always recommend that you look for products that include high quality natural ingredients to ensure that you are only putting natural products in your body.

We also recommend that you look at the source of the Astaxanthin to ensure that its quality and potency are effective.
It is also advisable to seek advice from your doctor before taking any kind of supplements if you are taking other medications.

What To Avoid In Avoid in Astaxanthin Supplements?

Make sure the product doesn’t contain too many synthetic components as they can cause other side effects.

Avoid supplements which list other chemicals or additives as these can be counterproductive and interfere with the effectiveness of Astaxanthin.

Do Astaxanthin Supplements Really Work?

Astaxanthin Supplements can and often do work for most people when taken correctly and in line with a balanced and healthy diet. Research does confirm that astaxanthin supplements can be beneficial for decreasing inflammation and lowering cholesterol levels as well as improving eye health etc.

However, it is important to seek advice from your healthcare provider about your dietary needs to ensure that Astaxanthin can work as effectively as possible.

Are Astaxanthin Supplements Safe to Use?

Astaxanthin supplements are considered safe to use when taken as directed.

It is important to ensure that you read the products instructions, so you are sure that you are taking the appropriate doses and at the frequency as detailed.

How Often Should Astaxanthin Supplements be Taken?

Always read the dosage instructions before taking any supplements. Generally Astaxanthin can be taken once per day whilst other brands will direct that they should be taken up to 3 times a day depending on the dosage.

Does Astaxanthin Have Side Effects?

Whilst astaxanthin is considered to be safe when taken as directed, some people can suffer side effects similar to allergy like symptoms with certain supplements.

This can include skin rash, itching or digestive issues. You should always consult your general practitioner or healthcare provider if you suffer with any side effects.

Top Choice 2023

Top Pick:
Pirooz Cell Care

9.9

5/5

Exceptional

  • Fast absorption for quick results
  • Counteracts aging by fighting free radicals
  • Enhances heart and brain health
  • Potent antioxidants
  • Boosts immunity with superfood extract
  • Restores healthy cell structure
  • Safe and effective
  • All-natural, no synthetics
  • Frequently sells out

Jessica Jones – Senior Health Expert Editor

Jessica is a knowledgeable dietitian and accredited wellness mentor residing in California, who has been sharing insights on health products for more than four years, amassing a substantial following that is devoted to her blog. Outside of examining health items, Jessica takes pleasure in discovering nearby farmer’s markets and cultivating her own organic produce.